Alright, so… what does an ideal Kenny Omega title reign look like?

So, even though there has only been two matches in Kenny Omega's reign as IWGP champion, a lot of people aren't happy with it so far. I've started to consider what should happen in the future for his time as champion to be more fulfilling, but have a hard time answering that question.

Just to articulate my thoughts on the title defense so far: The match against Ishii at Destruction was good, but not their best. Understandable, though, as they've had at least three incredible matches together since early 2017. I myself didn't want to see Cody in the main event at King of Pro-Wrestling because it seemed obvious that Kota Ibushi would've been a far greater opponent on his own. That by all rights should've been the title defense of the year, if not solely Kenny's career. And also I'd argue that the Cody vs Kenny feud ran its course before the G1, so to me that triple threat was too little, too late. The match just didn't NEED to have Cody it to be exciting and I feel like most fans had already mentally moved on at this point.

Now Tanahashi, even if he doesn't win at WK, will most likely be an excellent foil for Kenny in the main event nonetheless. Those two have every reason to hate each other and so far the build up has been what it should be. The press conference was very good and the Twitter posts have obviously proven controversial. Tana touring with New Japan during the Power Struggle tag league makes him look dedicated while Kenny publicly appearing without the belt makes him look questionable as champ. Meanwhile, the intrigue regarding Kota generates some suspense as well because we don't really know where he fits into all of this. He even addressed backstage recently some frustration towards the booking, New Japan putting him in Kenny's place throughout the tour in multi-man tags against Tana and company. So, I personally think the WK main event, no matter the outcome, will be very interesting. Chances are, we'll be excited for whatever comes next. A lot of combustible elements there.

Moving forward, let's say Kenny retains at WK. What should happen next? Who should he defend against? What should he do as champion that he's not doing already? Just curious to hear what you guys think an ideal Kenny Omega title reign looks like.

I personally don't know what that would look like. Kenny's beaten just about everyone you can beat in this company, except maybe Jay White, who beat him for the US belt already. Okada's never gotten a rematch, Tama Tonga could be a good personal issue driven grudge match regardless of title contention, ZSJ probably has some unresolved issues with Kenny, and Naito would be a good choice to beat Kenny for the title as well. But beyond that, I can't think of anyone, really. That's only 4 more title defenses, which could be New Beginning, Sakura Genesis, Dominion, and King of Pro-Wrestling. I personally would like to see Naito beat Kenny at KOPW and DEFEND the IWGP world championship at WK instead of challenging for it. He doesn't even have to win the G1 for that to happen either. So, that opens up a lot of possibilities for who he'd face at WK as well. What do you guys think?

submitted by /u/asahi_yojimbo
[link] [comments]

from New Japan Pro Wrestling https://ift.tt/2ADjMed
via IFTTT



from WordPress https://ift.tt/2OgNwBm
via IFTTT

Comments